Whale pellets, anyone?

On March 15, 2010, I renewed an old acquaintenceship with Chris Pash (Author of The Last Whale) through Plaxo. I wrote him this:

“Nice to connect to you here, Chris.

Around the same time, I took some great photos of old whaling stuff at the Fremantle Maritime Museum on the weekend. A young boy there thought that “whale pellets” were whale food. I gently explained what they were, used to be used for and why we don’t have them anymore.

His parents were happy, too. There is still a lot of education to be done.

Every child who learns the story of  “The Last Whale”  is our hope for the future.

On the same day, I (almost) bumped into The Hon Troy Buswell, MP. At the time, he was the Treasurer for Western Australia.

Like my Dad and myself (and 30,000 other people) Troy Buswell had come  to see the Queen Mary 2 at Fremantle. I caught up with him (and his minder) on the footbridge on the way to the Old Fremantle Passenger Terminal. When he confirmed he was indeed the Treasurer, I told him “We don’t want a gas hub at Broome near the whale nursery. Thank you.”
He looked suitably surprised at a one woman protest about the gas hub, when he was there to see the Queen Mary.

I originally wrote about this in January 2009, W A Premier Tries To Pass The Buck and also about Chris’s book which describes how Greenpeace helped stop whaling in Australia. Have Australians Stopped Killing Whales? You can get his book here The Last Whale

I have to say that Troy Buswell was not thinking about whales before he met me. Harpooned him on the walkway. Whale Harpoon, anyone?

The little boy to whom I spoke is in the background behind the harpoon, wearing a green T-Shirt. Just click on the picture of the harpoon to see what it really looks like.

About Lesley Dewar

Passionate about story telling and getting kids involved with adventures to improve their self esteem and self-confidence Blogger, Author, Networker, Social Media, Activist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Lesley Dewar, Paying It Forward and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

