Surviving Death By Powerpoint

It’s an exciting event you make your first appearance as a keynote speaker when starting out on a career as a public speaker. Having been a financial planner for 25 years and previously in sales and marketing, I have no fear of public speaking, with a few conference talks in my past and good feedback from industry colleagues.

On October 6, 2010, I was the keynote speaker for Empowering Bosom Buddies and shared the platform at Burswood with Jeffrey Scott, CEO of Comminsure, who has done over 900 platform presentations.

My approach was to speak more to breast health than to breast cancer; my slides were designed to avoid “death by powerpoint” and I used professional photographs or my own. It was an empowering experience and certainly flowed more freely for the second delivery.

Following the advice given during our NSAA “bootcamp”, I used no bullet points and very few words on the screen. I had rehearsed and rehearsed out loud, so that the presentation when delivered on its thumb drive was ready to go – timed – and finishing on a black screen.

The beauty of this is that when you are not “reading” off the screen, the audience has no idea if you have strayed off the path, ad libbed a little, skipped something that is not relevant to them as an audience or found a point to emphasise that didn’t apply earlier. It is very liberating!

No logos (wasn’t appropriate but my name was up there once) ; no slide numbers; no dates; no advertising; no templates. It was absolutely glorious to have the presentation ticking away behind me, my notes highlighted here and there “change slides” and to know that the choice of font was good.

Without my training at the Perth NSAA “boot camp” I would have done a traditional powerpoint show. It was very hard at first to take out the slide “titles” – but it was right.

Without a lot of text and no handout notes, it is not the traditional powerpoint presentation. I have printed both the presentation slides and my opening story to PDF Any comments will be welcome.

My introduction – told with no visuals. My Personal Story – as an introduction.

My powerpoint slides were timed to run on autopilot (here they are a click through PDF). The presentation pictures

If you “like” this post, please Like Us On Facebook

Like This!

Not on Facebook?  No time to comment right now? Just press the like button below the post, so I know that you have read it and liked it.

About Lesley Dewar

Passionate about story telling and getting kids involved with their parents to improve literacy. Blogger, Author, Networker, Social Media, Activist.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Career Achievement, Media Events. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Surviving Death By Powerpoint

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Surviving Death By Powerpoint « No Tall Poppies -- Topsy.com

  2. Pingback: Interview With Andrew Spriegel | No Tall Poppies

  3. Pingback: Follow up Interview with Lesley Dewar over one year later – A Born Entrepreneur and “Retired” Financial Planner Launches Yet Another Business | andrew.spriegel's blog

  4. Pingback: Follow up Interview with Lesley Dewar over one year later – A Born Entrepreneur and “Retired” Financial Planner Launches Yet Another Business - Spriegel & Associates

Leave a Reply

