An Expensive Lunch

On a side branch in the Banksia tree above the trench, an old man kookaburra sits. He is very large. His beak is big, broad and pointed. His wing feathers are dark brown and as he moves in the morning light, a beautiful iridescent green reflects from their edges. His flathead moves from side to side, sharp eyes looking up and down the trench, for he knows that he saw ………

About Lesley Dewar

Passionate about story telling and getting kids involved with their parents to improve literacy. Blogger, Author, Networker, Social Media, Activist.
This entry was posted in alphainventions, Blogging, Family, Lesley Dewar, The Idler and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An Expensive Lunch

  1. Arlene says:

    enjoyed the mouse parable thanks

  2. Lesley Dewar says:

    Thanks, Arlene. I really learned something about the value (?) of compound breeding when I ran the numbers as background research for this story. I have a little brown mouse in my office and I was thinking of keeping her as a pet. As they say in the Eagles’ SGIO advert “Not any more”. 🙂 Cheers Lesley

  3. henry says:

    Hi Lesley Nana,

    I loved it, and I’m all for telling realistic stories like this to children, as they need to learn about the “food chain” at a suitable time.

    I’d like you to add the bit about the dalmation and the kookaburra too.

    I’ve recently trapped about 5 mice in my kitchen, I’m trying gently to let my own children know that they are a health hazard, and that I’m killing them, not releasing them outside.

  4. Lesley Dewar says:

    Hi Henry, lovely to hear from you and I am glad that you liked the story – understanding that we can educate and entertain at the same time. I definitely will add the bit about the kookaburra’s teasing my Dalmatian, because it was something that went on for years, when we lived in the bush – it is almost a story in its own right! Glad you caught the mice – I will email you a copy of the spreadsheet I created to validate the numbers – the Editor actually published it with the story in The Swan Magazine – because the numbers are so overwhelming. As an engineer – on a winter’s evening, you could probably have some fun with creating some attrition factors, too. That will entertain the children as well. Regards to you and Elaine. Cheers Lesley

Leave a Reply

